Canadian Association of Geographers Awards

Aboriginal Peoples
Arctic and Northern Regions
Community, Regional & Enterprise Development
Creative Arts, Culture and Heritage
Environment, Energy and Natural Resources
Governance and Public Policy
Information and Communication Technology
Oceans, Fisheries and Aquaculture


Academic Unit:

Memorial Deadline: Friday 1st, November 2019

External Deadline: Friday 31st, January 2020


Nominators are advised to contact Ellen Steinhauer , Manager, Awards and Honours, SIRI, for information on this program, if they are interested in these competitions.

The Julian M. Szeicz Award for Early Career Achievement

The Julian M. Szeicz Award honours the memory and achievement of Dr. Julian M. Szeicz (1965-1998). The award is presented annually by the Canadian Association of Geographers in recognition of research achievement and career potential by a Canadian geographer at an early career stage. The purpose of the award is to foster the development of geographical studies of Canada and to provide recognition of recently established geographical practitioners.

The CAG will accept ONE nomination for the Award from each Geography department with a graduate program.

The Robin P. Armstrong Memorial Prize for Excellence in Indigenous Studies

The Robin P. Armstrong Memorial Prize recognizes and promotes excellence in applied research related to First Nation/Aboriginal/Indigenous peoples in Canada. It was established to commemorate the contribution of Robin P. Armstrong to research on Aboriginal issues within the government of Canada and the CAG.  The prize is drawn from a fund established in Robin Armstrong’s memory with donations from the Armstrong family and individuals who wish to commemorate Robin and support indigenous studies in this way.

The Indigenous Peoples Working Group (IPWG) of the Canadian Association of Geographers (CAG) was pleased to award the first Armstrong Memorial Prize in 2002 to Dr. Kathleen Wilson for her Ph.D. dissertation entitled “The Role of Mother Earth in Shaping the Health of Anishinabek: A Geographical Exploration of Culture, Health and Place.” See a complete list of recipients here.

The Robin P. Armstrong Memorial Prize for Excellence in Indigenous Studies is awarded to a graduate student in Geography or First Nations/Indigenous Studies for the best Master’s or Ph.D. thesis on a research topic related to First Nations/Aboriginal/Indigenous peoples and issues in Canada.

Award For Scholarly Distinction In Geography

The purpose of the award is to recognize a member of the CAG for outstanding scholarly work in geography either in the form of sustained contributions over a number of years or as a single major research contribution.

Award for Service to the Profession of Geography

This award is intended to recognize a member of the CAG for exceptional professional service over a period of years – for example, in the university training of geographers, in administration or similar activities in the public service, as an officer of a learned society, or in such other ways as have significantly advanced the profession and practice of geography in Canada.

For more information on these and other CAG awards please see here.

Funding Sources

This opportunity was posted by: SIRI

Last modified: May 16, 2019