UArctic Chairs

Aboriginal Peoples
Arctic and Northern Regions


Academic Unit: inquire with unit

Memorial Deadline: Wednesday 8th, May 2024

External Deadline: Wednesday 15th, May 2024


The purpose of this call is to identify potential candidates supported by their host institutions to serve as UArctic Chairs. As well as complement and further widen the collective expertise and focus of the present UArctic Chairs.

The call for expression of interest is intended to allow UArctic members to have an initial step towards appointing new UArctic Chairs.

Note that the deadline for expression of interest is May 15th 2024.

An expression of interest must come from a department leader or similar position at a member institution. For candidates that get recommended, the host institution must submit a formal nomination from the proposing institution(s) / organization(s). UArctic Chairs are highly qualified academics who are given an opportunity to serve as academic drivers in their areas of expertise to benefit the Arctic at large.

These UArctic Chairs will be funded by the nominating UArctic member institution(s) / organization(s) and the UArctic expect them to be able to spend 20% of their time to their UArctic role. The home institution must fund a travel budget for a minimum of two international travels annually. A Chair will continue to spend most of their time as leads in their existing area of work in their home institutions. Each chair will be appointed for a period of five years, with the possibility of renewal.

UArctic also welcomes Indigenous Knowledge Chairs and proposals for UArctic Emeritus Chairs, supported by a member. For these categories, the terms and requirements listed above may be adjusted in dialogue with UArctic.

Here you can find more information on the expression of interests. UArctic Terms of Reference can be found here.

Please make sure to read the guidelines for the expression of interest before a nomination. For further inquiries, please contact

Funding Sources


This opportunity was posted by: RGCS

Last modified: March 25, 2024