Weston Family Awards in Northern Research- Masters and Postdoctoral level

Aboriginal Peoples
Arctic and Northern Regions
Community, Regional & Enterprise Development
Environment, Energy and Natural Resources


Academic Unit: Inquire with your unit

Memorial Deadline: Friday 22nd, January 2021

External Deadline: Wednesday 27th, January 2021


Since 2007, the Weston Family Awards in Northern Research (previously The W. Garfield Weston Awards in Northern Research) have provided unparalleled support to young scientists in Canada pursuing research in Canada’s North. Funded by the Weston Family Foundation (formerly The W. Garfield Weston Foundation), these annual awards are some of the most prestigious in the country for students pursuing a master’s degree, a doctoral degree or postdoctoral fellowship. Over 270 early-career researchers have been selected to receive an award since the program’s inception, forming a community of Weston Family Northern Scientists who are at the forefront of northern scholarship and who are helping shape a better future for Canada and the world.

Weston Family Award winners undertake research projects across a broad spectrum of fields and disciplines in the natural sciences, including studies of northern ecosystems, biodiversity, flora and fauna, meteorology, oceanography, glaciology, geography and environmental studies.

The 2021 competition is now open.  The deadline to apply is January 27, 2021 5:00 p.m. (EST)

Apply now through the online portal

Additional information can be found here.

Funding Sources

Weston Family

This opportunity was posted by: RGCS

Last modified: December 22, 2020